Woodworking Business

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Getting a Bonus

3/28/17       
Kevin

We are a small cabinetry company that had our best year to date last year. We are set-up as an LLC with me having a 50% share and another family having a 50% share. I've asked this question to several accountants but keep thinking there has to be a better way.

I want to pull out a large bonus from the business. Throughout the year, I get a paid a modest salary and like every other employee I see the taxes taken out of my check. Being a business owner, I then in turn write another check to cover the employer side of the taxes. I'm being told that I need to pull a bonus in the same manner as my weekly checks. If I do that that means that my taxes will be paid for both the employee and employer side which on a large check that's a big chunk of money.

For example - If I get a $100K bonus to me personally, that check looks closer to $82K due to the taxes. Then my business will have to write a check to Uncle Sam for approx. $36K to just cover the taxes. The hit to the business will actually be $118 when you consider the expense of the bonus plus the tax payment.

Is this what everyone else is doing? This just seems like a huge tax bill that I'm having to flip just to pay myself the money that I've all ready earned.

I'm hoping someone out there has been doing this for years and can tell me how they distribute their bonus money with the least amount of tax burden.

Thanks for the help.

3/28/17       #2: Getting a Bonus ...
rich c.

I guess you could do like the really big boys, and put it in an offshore account. But if you want to do it legally, pay the taxes! It's income, it's taxable.

3/28/17       #3: Getting a Bonus ...
John Moore

I setup my company as an S corp, pay myself a set salary so that my "profits/distributions" get taxed at a lower rate.