Woodworking Business

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Buying custom cabinet shop: a good idea?

9/14/19       
colortheory Member

I am considering buying a custom cabinet shop in town and would really love to hear a professional opinion. I have no prior experience as a woodworker myself but i do have numerous years of kitchen and bath design as a professional remodeler and a certified interior designer. The reason I am really interested in this opportunity, is because in my market that is saturated with all kinds of semi-custom cabinet shops and alike, there is a niche that I see and would like to carve out for myself. My question for you is this: does it sound like a bad idea to purchase the business with my sort of background, provided the employees will stay in place and the owner is willing to stay on to train? Just to preview: his numbers are very healthy and have been approved by my CPA; he carries no bad debt and pockets approximately $150/year in salary. I would have to carry a loan. The reason he's selling is the retirement, of course. Please be honest. Thank you.

9/14/19       #2: Buying custom cabinet shop: a good ...
rich c.

I've grown to be a pessimist with old age, so I say don't buy it. to me, this economy is held together with bull puckey and duct tape. And the duct tape is fraying on the edges. Looks like the easier money is just buy the cabinets you've designed and mark them up. Ask the current owner how many hours a week he works. At a per hour basis, $150k may not be that great. I remember a lot of 80 hour weeks when I owned my business. What happens when the lead man in the shop moves to another shop? How long will the owner stay on? Suggest he sell his business to his employees, then you buy cabinets from them! Surely there are better ways to invest money that won't be affected by the economy as badly as the woodworking industry.

9/14/19       #3: Buying custom cabinet shop: a good ...