Computer Aided Design

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Excel spreadsheet to manipulate x,y,z extent data for cut list?

11/5/13       
Gavin

I am a novice at using spreadsheets, and was wondering if the following is possible with a macro or otherwise:

I can export a csv file of x,y,z 'extents' of acis objects from my CAD program. This is simply the distance, in each axis, that an object occupies. The x,y,z extents for an object obviously differ depending on how the object is oriented. For instance, an object that's 3 units by 2 units by 1 unit would generate x,y,z, extents of 1,2,3 or 2,3,1 or 2,1,3 or 3,1,2... etc depending on how it's oriented in 3d space. Now, is it possible in excel to import this information into length, width, and thickness columns (the information would be initially all mixed-up), and have excel comb the records, and place the largest number in length, the second largest in width, and the smallest in thickness?

Furthermore, is it possible for excel to find duplicate records, toss out the second and subsequent records, and keep track of the number of duplicate records, then adding that number into a 'quantity' column for the original part? I hope I'm explaining myself well enough. I realize this wouldn't work perfectly, as there are some parts that are larger in width than length, but for my purposes it would be a vast improvement.

Thanks

11/6/13       #2: Excel spreadsheet to manipulate x,y ...
Splinter

could be done using VBA if you know your beans.....

11/6/13       #3: Excel spreadsheet to manipulate x,y ...
Gavin