Computer Aided Design

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Life After SketchUp - which way to go?

10/19/14       
Chris Hall Member

I've been using SketchUp (Pro) for several years now and am feeling at the end of the road with it, largely because of the following:

-poor modeling of 3D curves and surfaces
-poor exportability for CAM
-not really very precise

I've been using it on a Mac, and have various plug ins downloaded, but I've been finding it a source of frustration more often than not, and I'm very clear that it is time to move on to something better.

At this time I'm looking at buying a new computer, moving to a PC specifically configured for CAD, with great graphics card, loads of RAM, 30" monitor, etc. The problem is with choosing software.

There are so many choices out there it is friggin' bewildering! I want a software that can handle curved surfaces well, and export well-rendered 3D models, as well as conventional 2D plan and elevation views, so I can communicate effectively with my clients. I do like the intuitive nature of Sketchup being able to push and pull surfaces around.

Sometimes, not every job, I want to have parts made by a CAM subcontractor, and that is where I need to be able to export 3D models that is useful to those vendors. I have no plans in the immediate future to do my own CAM in-house.

I build custom woodwork exclusively, always with solid wood. I build few projects per year, and there are no production runs. I generally do not use 'off the shelf' anything. So, software configured for cabinets and conventional sheetgood manufacture is not what I'm looking for. I want something I can prototype and explore design in a flexible manner. I am a 1-man shop so there is no issue with being able to communicate with people on the shop floor. I do the drawing and I do the fabrication.