CNC

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

new or old?

12/9/15       
RC

I run a small high end custom shop, am interested in adding a router into the tool mix
Has anyone weighed the pros and cons of buying a 10 y/o higher end router(Komo,Andi) vs. a new Laguna,Techno??? I have read many opinions on this site about how a used Altendorf or Martin slider would be a better choice than a new import machine.

Does the same analogy hold true for routers? Are the older machines out dated and more difficult to use?, software obsolete??

Being a beginner, I do not want to spend a ton of money, and can see the wisdom of the older iron that would likely hold calibration better,give more accurate cuts etc....

Anyone been down this road?

12/9/15       #2: new or old? ...
Gary B.

RC,

That mindset holds well with non electronic equipment like shapers, saws, and other "old iron", but IMHO, not well in a CNC arena. The problem is parts, and old obsolete software. non-cnc old iron is simple...You'll always be able to find an on-off switch you can wire on, or a new bearing, etc. It's not so easy when you get into electronic and pnuematic parts. It's also not easy to find some of the older software, or a computer that can run it (many times,old software won't run on new computers).

If I was looking at CNC's on a budget, I would only go used on one condition- I had personally used an Identical machine make and model before, and knew it inside and out, AND was content with how it could be programmed. Definitely wouldn't recommend going old for a first time CnC purchaser.

12/10/15       #3: new or old? ...
RC

Gary
thanks for the feedback, sounds like you have known someone who has suffered the pitfall of buying at scrap prices.
Any manufacturer that you lean strongly toward or against?? Again ,this is something that I have no experience with (I can draw in ACAD) but feel like its the logical next step.