CNC

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

new vs used CNC advice

4/18/16       
Yusuke Member

Hey guys,

My business partner and I recently formed our company 4 months ago. We started out in a small 900sq ft shop and have now moved into a 3500sq ft shop. My background is in custom cabinetry while his is in metal work. We have primarily been doing custom desks, tables, built in cabinetry, railings, gates, furniture. Recently we have become linked up with a plastic injection molding company (my business partners father is friends with the owner of the factory).

So we have this job opportunity to finish 5000 plastic models with an end total of 20000 units. That's the finishing portion that we have already been contracted to do in our new finishing booth. Great.

The second part of the job that was offered to us was to machine the same number of display bases. The parts are 1" thick, 20" diameter particle board circles with 2 holes milled for mounting the models.

The thinking is that we buy a cnc to mill all of the circles, get us through the job, I would use it to process the cabinetry jobs that continue to come in, and have a machine for the next display job, and eventually upgrade it when the time is right.

Being that we are 4 months old and have no credit history we can forget about financing a 130-200k system. I contacted SCM, CR Onsrud, KOMO, biesse, stiles/weeke, Thermwood for quotes.

That essentially leaves us with the used market and trying to get a high interest loan for a lower priced machine that will be paid for by the job. We were looking at a used Multicam MG205 and a KOMO I'm waiting to hear back on from the rep at KOMO. Downsides being no warranty, no idea on machine use/abuse other than run time hours, most systems are not operational or they are out of state for inspection, no idea on problems with the machine or what is about to break down, overall quality of the system.