CNC

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

CNC recommendation for school

12/22/17       
Aaron Hooks Member

I am a new industrial tech teacher at a small school. I am interested in adding a CNC router to our shop. I want to give students experience with CNC programming.

Uses would be projects for manufacturing classes and support for entrepreneurial classes.

I don't think we would need 4' x 8' capacity. What are your thoughts on having turning capacity included?

Thanks for your help.

Aaron

12/22/17       #3: CNC recommendation for school ...
Aaron Hooks Member

By the way, I said in the heading but not in the body of text that I am interested in recommendations for a school environment.

Thanks,

Aaron

12/22/17       #4: CNC recommendation for school ...
Jim

Total Cut CNC would be happy to put together a proposal for you. Please email me your contact information so I can have someone get in touch with you.

https://totalcutcnc.com/cnc-routers/

12/22/17       #5: CNC recommendation for school ...
rich c.

Do you really plan to teach programming? To teach them how to do it from scratch may have some merit, but a skill seldom used today. An operator may have to change a few lines of code, but they sure don't need to know full programming. What is your background with CNC? I'd guess they might do more 3D carving compared to "turning" with a 4th axis. But I imagine 3D printing would be a better use of funds.

12/22/17       #6: CNC recommendation for school ...
Aaron Hooks Member

Rich - thanks. We have a 3D printer. Yes, my intention is to teach (at least some of them) to program the machine. I appreciate your thoughts on the 4th axis.

Jim - I will touch base. I am looking for money right now so having a quote will be a requirement. Thanks

12/23/17       #7: CNC recommendation for school ...
tom Member

I know there are a lot of Shopbots in schools and they do give a school discount.