Furniture Making

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Professionalism

9/20/13       
Myron Gains

I see a noticeable trend where many discussions involve the most elementary of questions. Topics that would be covered in even the most informal 1-2 week hobby level woodworking courses. Knowledge that would be gained from even brief research.

Answering many of these questions in a comprehensive manor would involve teaching a full fledged "woodworking 101" course.

Furthermore many involve an introduction that starts out with "I am new at this" and essentially the question amounts to "tell me how to build my project" Read between the lines and this is all too common.

I have to make it a point to suggest that when pursuing woodworking as a career it is advisable to at least attempt to learn the basics via formal training, research, and personal work before charging clients money, and claiming to be a professional.

I certainly understand that everyone who has made it had to have the freedom to start out from nothing. However ignorance of even the basic fundamentals is startling. The right place to start is by learning a little bit first, before you jump head first. Not by being ignorant of the knowledge that exists because of those that have gone before you.

Quite obviously there are people who are clearly taking commissions, and therefore representing themselves as a professional maker, who have obviously never even gone as far as to study/read a decent book on the subject. Certainly no knowledge or understanding of critical concepts such as wood movement.

I just don't know what to think. There is certainly no barrier to entry.