Sawing and Drying

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Advice on sawing different cedar species for air drying

1/26/15       
Lee Member

I am a novice to the art of sawing and drying my own lumber, and I've tried to do extensive research on the topic before posting but still find myself with some questions.

My main problems are sticker staining and discoloration of sapwood, and mildew.

I have been sourcing urban logs from friends who do treework, and when I have a big enough pile I've hired a sawyer with a bandsaw mill to cut them for me. This past summer leading into fall I had approx. 1,000bf of cedar sawn, (western red and cedrus deodora). The Deodar is not a well known species to many woodworkers since it's not native, but was and is a popular ornamental tree and as such it is available in the urban settings I've been sourcing logs from. It has very aromatic heartwood and is quite rot resistant, so i like to use it for siding and decking.

I followed good stacking and stickering protocol (I think?) and let the wood airdry outside during the shoulder season where we still have some nice sunny days mixed with wet ones...(covered from the rain, in the shade, and with fans on it to keep air moving) before moving into a greenhouse to finish off...this brought the MC down to 15% or less now which is sufficient for using as exterior siding and decking. Unfortunately there was quite a bit of mildew and pretty severe "sticker stain" and other sapwood discolorations, primarily on the deodar. The ends were treated with anchorseal, and I had very little loss due to checking or warping.