Solid Wood Machining

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Experienced noob needs molder selection advice

4/6/16       
Tim Mann Member

Aloha friends at Wood Web

I'm a professional wooden boatbuilder who just crossed the line into making my own boat lumber because of the rising price of low-quality lumber that's available. I need advice on a molder from someone who is experienced with them. Here's how I'm set up:

1. 9-ton Pitman 900 truck crane, CDL, crane operator's license.
2. Free logs from local arborist companies; they charge the customer for hauling them away, I pick up $2-5,000 worth of logs for some diesel and my time. I've got about 100,000 bf in the front yard in logs from 24 inches diameter (that's a small log here) to 54 inches diameter.
3. New Mobile Dimension "128" 230V 3 phase electric rotary saw (cuts cants up to 8-1/2" by 12-1/2"), with hydraulic infeed and outfeed tables and stacking.
4. Heavy-duty vertical 36-inch resaw bandmill with 10 hp 3 phase motor, using 4 inch stellite-toothed blades with 1/16" kerf, and a hydraulically-driven carriage system with return and lumber handling built-in.
5. 5 hp 3ph 24-inch grizzly thickness sander
6. 150kw new Cummins diesel genset to power all this

I'm on the Big Island of Hawaii. There's a LOT of good boat lumber here: eucalyptus of many species (eg: saligna, citradura, think Honduras mahogany), teak equivalents, cypress, and so on. I expect to run the mill about 2 days a week making lumber and veneers for my boatbuilding business.