Wood NetWork

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

young guy needs urgent help with wood slab questions

10/16/12       
swisswood Member

Please help. Unforeseen circumstances find me in a do-or-die situation with limited industry knowledge. Specifically, relating to eliminating problems in custom-built solid wood plank tabletops and countertops via proper up-front planning: (1) Is it true that if you buy wood dried to 8% and seal it equally on both sides, assuming there are no variables such as radiant heat, plank width of up to 6" is comparable in warp and crack resistance to plank width of 1"-3"? (2) I have seen installations of tops with 10"-12" wide planks with no steel bracing below. Is this reasonable? (3) What are the pros, cons and pitfalls of thicker countertops (up to 3")?
My background is in particleboards and laminates. I've been chucked in the deep end here. For objectivity, assume we are talking about a Black Walnut table top 48" x 120" with Oil finish, Our family business depends on doing things right the First time so as to have the maximum safeguard agains future problems.

10/17/12       #2: young guy needs urgent help with wo ...
Jon

I can't follow what you meant by "assuming there are no variables such as radiant heat, plank width of up to 6" is comparable in warp and crack resistance to plank width of 1"-3"?," so you might want to clarify that part of your question. There's no reason a large solid top has to be made from many narrow pieces, but doing it that way can sometimes help prevent problems. It's entirely possible to have very large tops made from single plank, if it's done carefully. It's best to have the same sort of finish on both sides of a solid top, so that both sides take up or lose moisture at roughly the same rate, so that the top is less likely to cup.