Total Finishing Supplies

Professional Finishing

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Micro bubble hell

11/10/18       
Mark Member

I've been using Target EM9300 for a few months now. At first, it was spraying flawlessly. Really nice looking finish on my signs. About 2 weeks ago, things took a turn for the worse, and I cannot for the life of me figure it out. The first coat sprays on nice and clear. The second coat, as it dries, develops a surface that looks like a thousand little bubbles that are cut in half. Like if you took a sphere and cut it in half and peppered them all around the surface of the sign. I spray with a Fuji 5 stage turbine. I've tried 1.3, 1.5, 1.8, and even 2 mm tips. I've tried rinsing sanding residue between coats with distilled water, thinking that maybe my water has developed some kind of contaminate. I've cleaned my turbine out and flushed the hose out with water thinking that maybe there was dust in there, I've tried playing around with the temperature and humidity levels in the drying room. Nothing is working. The funny thing is that if I spray 5 signs all back to back, same techniques, 1 or 2 will come out great, and the others will have the terrible looking finish. Sometimes, a sign will have the bubbles in some areas, and not other areas. I'm really puzzled, and I dont know where to go next. Thanks for any help you can provide.

11/11/18       #2: Micro bubble hell ...
John L

I was having that problem too with the EM9300 Polycarbonate. I switched guns from HVLP to air, spraying at a higher pressure with less material. Seems like it bubbles when applied too heavy.