Architectural Woodworking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Insulated Glass spacer blocks

3/25/15       
Tyler

Are insulated glass spacer blocks necessary in true divided lite double hung window units with small glass openings like 7x9?
Most glass manufactures offer a 3/8 sight line after adding your spacer of 1/8 that would have your total bar at 1 1/4 with a 1/4" stem.
I have seen larger manufactures windows made without spacer blacks ( in an effort to keep munition bars smaller I'm assuming) but haven't seen the results after years of use. I'm new to IG units in true divided lite and want to make sure I have all my bases covered. I'm aware of the need for weep holes but not sure what else is necessary. Thank you.

3/25/15       #2: Insulated Glass spacer blocks ...
Read

Tyler,

If your IG units are sealed with hot-melt, then they require a spacer block to support the individual panes and stop them sliding out of alignment and breaking the seal. Hot melt will soften as the temperature rises so this could still be a problem even with your smaller units.

Also, if the unit is not installed properly the manufacturer will not stand by its warranty.

I have found it prohibitive to make small units because most manufacturers have a 3 foot minimum. Also it requires such large Muntin bars to hide the spacer and seal.

Have you thought of true simulated divided light where you apply both interior and exterior muntin bars and fill the space between the panes for a more authentic look?

Are you making your own IG units?

3/26/15       #3: Insulated Glass spacer blocks ...
Joe Calhoon

Tyler,