Woodworking Business

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Evaluating a new employee for installations

4/9/15       
Joseph D. Christman  Member

I'm an installer. I typically work with one helper and scale up for bigger projects, so I work closely with any employee. Needless to say, we can't afford too many mistakes, because any error is bound to be very expensive. Additionally, the maxim of "good help is hard to find" is true, and many of us learn to live with some level of compromise.

I have a new helper I hired a couple months ago. He is both smart and honest, and mostly seems able to pick things up. Occasionally though, he seems to space out or be distracted, which can (and has) result in potentially costly errors. To me, these seem largely to be problems with lack of rigor.

The other potential issue seems to be his health. Though he's only in his late 20s, and in ok shape, he pops Tums multiple times per day, has frequent headaches, and sounds a little stressed out in his personal life.

I've invested a fair amount of time in him so far, but am not sure whether he will last much more than a year.

My questions to you are:
What benchmarks do you use to evaluate your employees?
Do you have any standards about an "allowable" level of mistakes? (Because we all make them from time to time.)
In what ways do you let other factors (like health) guide your employee evaluations?

I appreciate your guidance.

4/9/15       #2: Evaluating a new employee for insta ...
John S  Member

Hi Joseph,

I will address your questions one at a time.