Safety Speed Cut Thermwood Corporation ECabinet Systems

Cabinetmaking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

red oak TOO dry?

5/21/16       
door shop guy

I have been having problems making straight parts lately only with red oak. I flatten all frame material on the jointer then run thru thru the planer. When it comes out of the planer it is not flat anymore. This is only happening with red oak...not poplar, maple, cherry, alder etc. I measured moisture with my Wagner meter and it is consistently at 4.5-5.1 %. This oak is from a major mill who i have been using for a couple years now. Going to talk with supplier monday. What should i do and will this cause me problems with warranty down the road?

5/21/16       #2: red oak TOO dry? ...
Adam Spees

This is off Wiki:

Case hardening describes lumber or timber that has been dried too rapidly. Wood initially dries from the shell (surface), shrinking the shell and putting the core under compression. When this shell is at a low moisture content it will 'set' and resist shrinkage. The core of the wood is still at a higher moisture content. This core will then begin to dry and shrink, however any shrinkage is resisted by the already 'set' shell. This leads to reversed stresses; compression stresses on the shell and tension stresses in the core. This results in unrelieved stress called case hardening. Case-hardened wood may warp considerably and dangerously when the stress is released by sawing.

The wood is effectively defective. You should be able to return what you haven't used at the very least. Don't keep it.

5/21/16       #3: red oak TOO dry? ...
door shop guy

Should i request that they take care of any warranty work that should arise?
I have never had a warranty issue with anything as long as i have been building cabinet doors.