Computer Aided Design

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

3D CAD for Cabinet Design and Production

1/30/14       
steve

I'd like to know what is the best currently available way to use something like Inventor or Solid Works to design and PRODUCE cabinetry. Opinions welcome.

I've been playing with Inventor for a couple of months and have been very impressed. I have designed some specialty one off curved hoods with success and have been test building parametric cabinets with some success. The shop drawings are great with easy to produce sections, parts list, notation etc..

I would need a solid way to go to CNC. Anyone using Router Cim with Inventor and would like to weigh in on your experience?

1/30/14       #3: 3D CAD for Cabinet Design and Produ ...
Richard

Hi Steve.

You should check out Pathfinder 3D. It's a plugin for Solidworks that extracts all the individual parts for the CNC as layered DXF files. All the geometry for toolpaths will be in the files.

From there you can import into your CAM package or if you want an easier solution you can get the PBE (powered by Enroute) version and generate g-code without leaving the Solidworks window.

I have used Solidworks for a few years to design store fixtures & custom millwork. I have only really dabbled with Inventor but they seem to be fairly comparable products. Pathfinder really unlocks the potential of Solidworks.

I believe you could import all your Inventor parts and Solidworks would reconstruct all the featured of the model using feature recognition.

Take a look at their website and feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

pathfinder3d.com

Regards

Richard

1/31/14       #4: 3D CAD for Cabinet Design and Produ ...
steve

Thanks Richard,

I will take a look. I am not so far along with Inventor that I couldn't change gears.