CNC

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Up Grading CNC

4/4/15       
Tom Twark Member

I have been running full size ShopBot since 2007. We cut mainly melamine and Plam panels for commercial casework.
I have been researching newer-better-faster machines for quite sometime and I've have zeroed in on a Biesse Clever. The machine I'm considering is not the high speed version.
What I'm getting is machine with ISO 30 style tool holders, 7 position, aluminum table 5 x 10, with 4 independent zones to maximize vacuum in which ever area it is needed. HSD 12 hp spindle with drill block. It comes with one Becker VLTF 250 pump.
I am going to set this up on single phase power and am leaning towards a PhasePerfect digital phase converter, over a rotary converter.
This is what I've heard through many conversations with various people.
ISO tool holders compromise cut quality when compared to HSK style tool holders. Aluminum table with one pump with will have trouble holding parts. The Phase perfect is about double the cost of a n American Rotary phase converter.
The price point of this setup is max'ing the pocket, but this is still Biesse's entry level set up. It is still miles ahead of the ShopBot set up I've been using.
Any comments or considerations I'm missing would be greatly appreciated.

4/4/15       #3: Up Grading CNC ...
Brian

Forget the iso-30 toolholders. For the way we program that Becker is not going to provide enough volume go for about twice that. That Biesse is a quantum leap over a ShopBot.

4/4/15       #4: Up Grading CNC ...
Maurice

My question to you is what is your price range, at that point we can give you a idea of what other machines are out there that others have run across and some of the features.

Because you can buy a hell of a machine for under 80k, steel frame, HSK spindle, 20 hp vac. Give us a little more information, and the recommendation will pour in to your post.