Total Finishing Supplies

Professional Finishing

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Plagued by lacquer orange peel

3/27/15       
Rich Member

I have been spraying lacquer for 15 years in my garage but I have only had consistent success when outdoor conditions are ideal (70+, low humidity). Right now I am test spraying in a 45 degree shop, yeah not the best conditions, but a few weeks ago I sprayed in 60 degrees in my garage on a beautiful day and it was the same result. I am using Lenmar lacquer and a Turbinaire MiniProPlus HVLP system. I have tried everything, every possible setting on the spray gun, every combination of needle/tip/air cap, thinned lacquer and straight out of the can, lower and higher air pressure. Everything results in orange peel when the temperature is below 70. It seems like the lacquer is not properly atomizing. It's coming out of the gun in a fine spatter rather than a smooth mist. I did just completely clean the gun and all of its parts. I have orders for projects almost year round but I have never taken them on in winter because this problem is severely limiting me on when I can do finishing. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

View higher quality, full size image (800 X 418)

3/27/15       #2: Plagued by lacquer orange peel ...
Denny J

Use a reducer and turn the heat up in the shop.

3/27/15       #3: Plagued by lacquer orange peel ...
rich c.

Probably nothing to do with the spray system, you're trying to get material to flow in a refrigerator. Insulate your garage and buy a furnace! Nothing flows at 45 degrees. Your neighbors must love you.

3/28/15       #4: Plagued by lacquer orange peel ...
Rich Member

Well, even at 60 degrees I was having the same problem.

What does it have to do with the neighbors? It doesn't affect them.

3/28/15       #5: Plagued by lacquer orange peel ...
CWK

you think 60 is warm? Either warm the lacquer or thin it.