Total Finishing Supplies

Professional Finishing

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Pricing prefinished trim

4/19/16       
Y. Heller Member

Hey guys,

I need to price a job for a new build that is underway. The contractor asked me to price out the trim for the whole house. It is a 3 part trim (flat stock, cap, shoe).

I have 2200ft of each component to mill, sand, stain, seal, scuff, glaze, top coat, and install.

How do you guys come up with pricing per foot on the finishing end? Sanding, staining, sealing, scuffing, glazing, top coating, time.

Being a 4 month old business this will be the first time I'm personally taking a job like this. I have no experience with the pricing end and I'm trying my best not to sell myself short. I know it varies from region to region. We are in New York an hour from the city.

I was reading some companies charge by sqft of finish, some finishers charge by the window and door, some go by the day. What is a fair pricing method for the customer, but is also profitable for the company?

My number for just the finish was $3.20 per foot. Not counting a milling charge, or install fee. (I also don't have a widebelt sander to cut the prep time and drop the price). This is going to be done with orbitals and hand sanding.

Am I too high?

4/19/16       #3: Pricing prefinished trim ...
Leo G

If there was no glaze then yes. But with the glaze I'm not sure if the price is high enough. How tall is the flat stock.

What kind of glaze job? Just in the nooks and crannies or are you applying glaze to everything and wiping down so the glaze alters the color?

4/19/16       #4: Pricing prefinished trim ...
Y. Heller Member