Total Finishing Supplies

Professional Finishing

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Spraying white conversion varnish

5/28/19       
SteveL Member

I've always struggled with spraying white and getting it to cover the wood color differences. We are spraying Axalta Ultra Guard with a CAT CRP gravity gun. The biggest problem seems to be I have to thin 35-45% in order to get it to lay down, then there is hardly any white left to the mix. We try to put heavy coats on and get a good white in two coats but it seems to always take three coats and a lot more time than expected. With all the reducer we have to used retarder to keep it from drying before we are done with the door but we cant seem to get that right either.

I must admit finishing is not my first love and I am no expert. I've struggled with this for a long time, but we usually only do 20-30% painted cabinets so I've just stumbled through it. We are getting more demand for painted and its going to drive me nuts if I don't get it figured out.

I have a kremlin AA but I have been too scared to put any pigmented through it. I'm assumeing I could get by with less thinner using a pump and have better coverage. Does anyone recommend switching from clear to white with AA pump? I would like to keep the colors separate in a cup gun if possible but would consider using the pump if it would save me hassle.

Also,I have also heard of some sort of fine white filler in a tube that can be used during finishing to fill the cracks in door ends and such, can someone tell me what this is?

5/28/19       #2: Spraying white conversion varnish ...
JM