Architectural Woodworking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

Has anyone used Red Grandis lumber?

4/7/15       
mitch

I have a couple of suppliers offering the Red Grandis product for exterior use, and I am considering its possible use in exterior shutters and/or screen doors. My biggest concern would be stability in regards to twisting or warping. Does anyone have any experience with how this stuff holds up over time?

4/7/15       #2: Has anyone used Red Grandis lumber? ...
David R Sochar Member

I see it is a Eucalyptus species, and I see it is plantation grown.

I have no direct experience with it. I do now believe that ring density is 100% what lads to stability and rot proofing. Unfortunately, that means old growth, larger, scarcer trees, of which there is a very limited supply.

Lyptus (similar species?) did not live up to the promotional marketing. I think it is noted for being less stable rather than more stable, in exterior situations. I am now selling WRCedar, VG for over $7.50 a b/f - nice stuff, but it is now twice what it was 7 years ago.

Accoya - acetic acid treated?

Torrified?

Where are we going to go?

4/7/15       #3: Has anyone used Red Grandis lumber? ...
Dan / drbwoodworks

We used it last year , we were disappointed . You are right it is eucalyptus . We found it to have lots of stress in it . We are sticking to Spanish cedar , sapele and cypress for our exterior millwork . It milled nicely through the molder , though

4/7/15       #4: Has anyone used Red Grandis lumber? ...
Mitch Suber  Member