Safety Speed Cut Thermwood Corporation ECabinet Systems

Cabinetmaking

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

HELP: Picking a 12" Jointer in Canada

6/17/20       
Anon Member

Hi everyone, Ive been working on my 6" jointer for a while now and have felt the restrictions since i first got. Im thinking ill just skip an 8" and go for a 12" (want to build my own door at some point) So theres really three options for a jointer.... new, used or a combo planer machine. Personally I like my machines separate so it rules out doing a combo machine... When looking for used on kijiji, craiglist and other auction sites(lookin for 4 months), they all are asking for close to the same amount as new ones (plus depend where in canada, id needed to pay for shipping anyways as well).

Soooooo....... my options are buy a used machine (I have no electrical experience so if it was 3 phase I wouldnt know how to change it) or new, The brands that Canada offers are here: Powermatic- 12000-9000,Laguna- 9000 Grizzly(used) 7000, Scorpion 7000,King Canada- 4000, Steel City- 6500

Some are 3hp, most are 5 hp. all are single phase

Things ive heard: King Canada is trash. Lagunas customer service sucks(so ordering parts is a no go) , Grizzly is the best midbrand for americans, powermatic is a nicer Grizzly, and I have no knowledge and havent found a whole lot from Scorpion or Steel City.

If anyone can give me insight on these other two companies/ if anyone has experience with any of these 12" jointers, what was your experience like? Also if anyone has any other suggestions feel free to input. Also if anyone knows of any good auction or used machinery stores that would have 12" jointers in the gta thatd be helpful as well.

6/17/20       #2: HELP: Picking a 12" Jointer in ...
Karl E Brogger  Member