Veneer

You are not logged in. [ Login ] Why log in
(NOTE: Login is not required to post)

What goes in the Bag?

9/10/13       
Scott

I just got a vacuum bag and pump, I have been searching the web on how to use it properly and I am confused. I am just using it right now for making some 8 ft long trim pieces. Some things I read are, you need a board first with some saw cuts in it and then you need another one on top, and you need some wax paper and maybe some shrink wrap and then some say the saw cuts go up and some say they go down, Sheesh!
Maybe all this is fine, I am a newbie so please forgive me.

9/10/13       #2: What goes in the Bag? ...
Wyatt

Who did you buy the vacuum bag from? Vac-u-clamp provides an instructional DVD if you purchase from them.

9/11/13       #3: What goes in the Bag? ...
Scott

I bought a used, like new vacu clamp, bag and mark 6 pump I believe. It never came with the disk.
I glued up some oak veneer on sanded light weight mdf last night, I used titebond cold press veneer glue and left it in the bag for 1 1/2 hours. When I took it out the bond didn't seem great, I could peel the veneer off so not sure what I did wrong!
Thanks

9/11/13       #4: What goes in the Bag? ...
David R Sochar Member

D Keil has made several videos that explain all the basics very well. Worth watching.

Darryl Keil Videos

9/11/13       #5: What goes in the Bag? ...
Wyatt

Why did you sand the mdf? Did you clean off any dust from sanding? Did you use enough glue? Most likely the glue hadn't dried. Titebond needs air to dry and there is no air in a vacuum. You can use it but it has to stay in the bag a lot longer. Try using a reactive glue like urea formaldehyde or epoxy. We use Titebond all the time but leave it in the bag a couple hours and then pull it out and put a platen and some weight on it so that it can cure further. It will get a decent cure in the bag but dries faster in the air.

9/11/13       #6: What goes in the Bag? ...
JeffD